If I can’t expect to enjoy the same way I did last time, is it worth coming to Him at all?

About two weeks ago I had an incredible week with God. Every day felt like a private conference between God and I that would put went deeper in its benefits than any other symposium could parallel. Each day seemed to have a new theme of grace that featured interactions with God that took a turn down paths I’d not yet have the privilege of traversing. What I had gotten used to with God was swept away in the tantalizing novelties I experienced.

But, like other conferences I’ve attended in the past, this one had it’s end: When it had served its purpose, it faded out of my life. I was left to put into my day-to-day life the fresh energies God had filled me with while I was in His presence. Now, there is a definite extent to which this God-imposed exchange seems a terrible concept. My initial feelings suggests that God is a bit cruel. How could He give a gift characterized by such intensity and then cause it to dissipate in such short order?

Here is a distinct example of how God’s thoughts are not like mine. When I grow familiar with a particular movement of God and I strain with hopes that it will last forever. God never favors preserving my fear-based desire that He not introduce any further alterations to my situation. Rather, He kindly overspreads me with His love; love that shifts me and turns my heart from focusing on what He gives to focusing singly on Him.

He doesn’t help me by making allowances for my propensity to look at His hands and lose my concern for beholding His face. His mode of service looks more like intervention. And, as we all know, intervention (when it’s coming our way) is never wholly pleasant. But the thing for you and I to remember is that God takes in the whole picture of our lives when He cares for us. What may give us grief for a moment does not lose it’s potential to give us more pleasure in God in the future.

Contrary to what our hearts may believe, pleasure is something that we need to learn. Pleasure cannot be divorced from God, and as people who have been divorced from Him through sin, we have lost the knack for it. Therefore, we must trust God in the way He chooses to conduct this training. His Spirit, alone, knows how to instate the deepest of joys in our hearts. We may not always understand the manner by which He’s doing it, but we can learn to trust the Love that dictates them. In that way He becomes the draw in all things, not what He’s doing or how we feel about any of it.

 

Wikipedia: He is a third-person, singular personal pronoun in Modern English, as well as being a personal pronoun in Middle English.

Leave a Reply

