All the little perfect things, are just too small a part of me; I want to share more!

I like to belong, don’t you? If you ever get tired of these questions I ask you, just know that I ask them because I want you to belong–to this post, yes, but also to the subject I address here. I want you to know that you’re a part of what I’m talking about–just like I’m a part.

I don’t want to leave you way out there. To me, there is no point to talking if the goal is not to draw another in; to bring them closer to you by making yourself nearer to them. I do not speak or write merely for the sake of filling the world with more words, my words. I speak, I write, because I want to invite someone (in this case, you) into what’s going on inside my heart. And, I hope will also draw near to me and invite me into what’s going on insider their heart.

These things are important. I think in some way, nearly everything  inside becomes as a loss to us if it is not ultimately shared with another person. We were meant to share out of the depths of our hearts–this brings life to both the other person and us. We need this. It’s part of who we are. Yet, so many of us avoid it.

I did. I kept myself closed up. Letting out only what represented the most perfect pieces of me, thinking that these represented, by implication, the best parts of me. I was wrong. The best parts of me are the real parts. They are the things that I don’t keep hidden inside. They are the things I learn how to share because I discover that there is a way this can be safe.

It is safe, not in the sense that I won’t risk harm, but that in wisely risking harm I can find healing. For, finding healing proves to be safer to the soul than living without it. So, we do not expect the world to be so good at accepting what we have to share. We hope they will be better than we have thought them to be, but disclosure is not dependent on our reception. We ares safe to be who we are because the world is not the ultimate determiner of who we are, nor do we expect it to fully understand who we are. Why should we? After all, we’re still figuring that out!

And so, I speak, and you can speak, not because we are impervious to hurt, but because God is the One in whose affection and acceptance we rest. If we’ve come to the cross with the matter of our sin and failures, He has already dealt with us. We are on a first-name basis with Him. He knows us and we know Him as we embrace the redemption that He works in and all around us.

So, why not play hide-and-seek on the inside? See what you might bring out and share. Share it first with God–an example of unwrapping your most hidden identity before Him. Once you do this, you can risk doing it with others. If they hurt you, they do not have the power to push you back inside and make you hide. If they hear you, you might just find that your words give them the power to share similar ones with you! It may even push them to consider sharing something with your Father and letting Him take that place in their hearts as well. Wouldn’t being a part of that be a treat for you?

Leave a Reply

