Does God know the pain?

Does God know the pain

with which I’m slain?

Does He know what it’s like to live without

And how if feels to be left out?

Can He change Himself to be like us, in our despair?

Has He ever suffered beneath a disgruntled stare?

I wonder if He sees what I suffer

Or does He prefer to hide behind a buffer?

I wish I could see Him in all the chaos

I don’t think I sense Him up on the cross!

I wish I could ask Him something but “why?”

If only I knew how not to cry.

But I have to believe all that I do, He understands

and no matter my failures, for me He stands.

In this is my hope, and my only true strength

My God’s love is assured me and knows no limits in length!

I will look forward with hope and make this my song:

My Lord is my Savior; and in Him I belong.

2 thoughts on “Does God know the pain?

  1. Hi Elaine,

    Thanks for your comment on my poem “Another Door Opens” and your other visits, too! I think this is beautiful; you wrote it with feeling and uncertainty, then ending with strength and conviction that He will guide you~I’m not sure what my style is…I write from the heart, with rhymes, free verse and some haiku and am no expert, just love to put my thoughts and feelings on paper (well, blog). I’m glad you’ve enjoyed and I hope you continue to…I will do the same! 🙂
    Lauren

    1. Lauren, I’m so glad I found you! I’ve been really wanting to find another writer who talked about God and brought walking with Him into her writing.
      Thank you for checking out my posts and encouraging me with your comments. I look forward to reading more of yours. 🙂

Leave a Reply

