Let’s settle for less, okay?

(I know, that sounds nothing like me–unless I’m being sarcastic. I hope you’re not offended if that sounds like you.)

It’s just that I never like having the least possible amount of anything. I mean, come on! Would any of us say “let’s settle for less” if there was a chance put before us to be wealthy, famous, healthy or glamorous? (See, I don’t even settle for less with my lists–I make them rhyme! Aren’t you proud of me?)

I don’t think so. We would all go for as much as we could get. So why do we treat our spiritual life as something we’re not willing to nourish and protect to the full? What leads us to assume its inferiority to other things in our life? Why does our spirit’s profit not drive our every acquisition?

Because most of what profits us there impoverishes us somewhere else, right?

I wish this were not the case–that we would allow one area of ourselves to be totally mismanaged because doing so might cause another to suffer. Does this even make sense? Where is our sense of living for the whole?

Maybe it is dead in the wake of extravagance and over-the-top living which can only be accomplished in small areas of our lives. One part of us has become spoiled and willful. What shall be the cost of not restraining it? Stretching to exhaustion every other part. And all to serve the one which gives nothing back to the rest.

This is the nature of the flesh. It does not give back to us or anyone else. It is selfish and manipulative. It has a cutthroat mentality that cannot be curbed unless is turned on itself. This is the only way to keep your spirit alive. Confrontation like this is not a worrisome case of taking things too far; anything less would be to let things go too far.

Don’t believe me? Take a good look at your flesh–what feeds it but sin? And how about the spirit–what feeds it but holiness? Which would you like to characterize you? It’s as simple as that. I can’t tell you what to do, but be sure that one of these–the flesh or the spirit–will!

Leave a Reply

